Highschool Of The Dead

Wow… I think I’m just utterly surprised after watching the last episode, not saying that I wasn’t really expecting much but rather… I never knew how good this anime was! In my mind Highschool Of The Dead has got to be the best anime of 2010, no doubt about it. Although when I first watched it earlier I could barely even stomach the sheer violence that was shown (violent is really an understatement here) but after going through a few more episodes I managed to watch it very pleasantly and I was even able to eat KFC while watching this without puking out! XD

But yeah, lets just talk about the anime for a bit. So what really makes HOTD (for short) rather special and different that most of the anime during that time? Well for one, its about zombies taking over… not only the school, but the entire world as a matter of fact! What caused the zombie outbreak is uncertain (it was said to be a deadly pandemic/virus or something, but has yet to be proven. Not sure if it was mentioned in the manga though…) but one thing was for certain, the zombies were about to take over the world!!! So the story was really focused on this group on students (and one teacher) from a school in Japan escaping these floods of zombies in order to survive, as well as finding their family members and friends. (hence the title of the anime being that)

Anyhow, I think you can figure out the rest of the anime somehow from the paragraph above. More or less, that what makes it mostly interesting. (well, from my perspective anyhow) While most other studios are busy making some moeblob anime or whatever normal cliche types of anime, this just blows every other anime out of the water. Not only it was totally different, but everything about it was just terrific. With Madhouse being the the studio that produced this masterpiece of an anime… (best regarded as one of the top anime studio in Japan, right up there with Production I.G, Gonzo, Bones, and the likes)Β  you can surely say that the anime is almost near perfect in terms of quality.

From the animations, to the character designs and settings, as well as the plot. (seriously, just imagine this similar to Left4Dead, only that its more focused in Japan and have more than 4 main characters lol. Honestly though, I think this anime was somewhat based of L4D in a sense…) Also the music and voice actors/actresses were simply amazing. I’m seriously thinking about getting the HOTD soundtrack somewhat right now… (albeit, illegally of course lol) but never mind that. I do not have to say more about this, its just that epic to watch. Its a mistake if you don’t try watching this…

Also, I think I might point out there has a few (sadly I know) fan-servicing going on throughout the anime, but of course the amount of it were a bit more constraint then lets say… Seikon no Qwaser or Queen’s Blade for that matter. Other than episode 6 (which you would rather just skip, unless you really wanna follow the story or see the characters in all their naked glory roflmao) the rest of the episodes were primarily focused on the actual story. Not that I’m complaining or anything (there is still the recently released OVA that I need to watch lol) but it does kinda stopped it from being perfect. Well maybe not really, but it does feel kinda out of place for what is a zombie infected anime.

Bla bla bla, yada yada yada, I’m just gonna stop here for now. Whatever it is, HOTD is awesome regardless what other people might say, point blank. Whether you would want to watch it or not is really up to you, but I will be a bit disappointed if you don’t. With all that done and said though, the anime isn’t really over with 12 episodes as even at the last episode there is definitely a lot more story to be told and finished, and with the OVA (which is btw, not related to the actual series) recently released, this is far from “the end” for HOTD. Whether a second season is underway or not is anybodies guess. So yeah… I probably will be done watching the OVA by the time you read this, but I don’t think I will have to write anything about it. XD

1 Response to “Highschool Of The Dead”


  1. 1 Firo 06/05/2011 at 3:13 am

    >mfw you haven’t even watched Tatami Galaxy


Leave a Reply

Tweets

Categories


